Microsoft readies NUads: ads that watch you watching them

Microsoft is planning to launch an ambitious plan within the next month that will revamp television advertising: television that watches you, watching it.

This entry was posted in text. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Microsoft readies NUads: ads that watch you watching them

  1. Eleni Pappelis says:

    The NUads is revolutionary in the interaction between the audience and television advertising. It’s almost scary to think how much information advertisers can obtain from their audiences. Being able to actually see reactions to television advertisements would allow companies to know if their ad was effective or not. This will save companies large amounts of money on advertising and allow advertisers to track what audiences want to see. The privacy policy makes me a bit uneasy because of all the information that can be taken and used. I think what Watt’s said about having the power to do something does not make it right is something that must be emphasized when putting this program into practice. I don’t think I would be comfortable knowing that advertisers are watching me in my living room.

  2. Caroline Amling says:

    Again, we see a really brilliant innovation here especially in a time when those 30 second spots on TV seem to be struggling with Tivo and skipping ads all together. But besides the brilliance and usefulness of this innovation, what is going to stand out are the privacy issues. This idea reminds me of a podcast that was posted a while back about billboards and other advertising that now have the capabilities to collect data about you (i.e. age, gender ect.) to better detect who their audience is. In my mind that is far less threatening than having something in your living room that can record and video you in your own home. While this innovation could mean big things for advertisers, the level of privacy invasion seems to much.

  3. Brittany Neptune says:

    I think this is a really great innovation that is going to totally transform advertising, more specifically television advertising as the shift continues towards digital interactive media. I think the privacy issue is not so much of an issue as critics say it will be. Think of RFID technology and the scare it raised when it was announced a few years ago, but now consumers are anticipating it during their shopping experience and no one seems to have stopped marketers from tracking consumers. I think this technology which registers users and obtains information about them is going to become commonplace and all concerns about it will soon subside. Many may complain, but when it comes to consumers actually using the product (think Wii Fit) they favor personalized products. Furthermore, consumers would much rather see advertisements geared towards their individual lifestyles or ones that pertain to them even if it means their console must do a little registering of them.

  4. Rob Jewett says:

    I can appreciate the technology behind NUads, but the risk of all this data being hacked and stolen from Microsoft is pretty high. I sometimes leave my TV on when I leave the room or even the house. Who’s to say that this couldn’t monitor when my house was free for someone to break in? Also, Im sure people other than me have a TV and an Xbox in their bedroom who just enjoy the “background noise” of the shows. This product can detect much more than just faces. I would feel much more comfortable watching TV, knowing that the commercials are not waiting for my reaction.

  5. Juliet Terramin says:

    Kinect’s capabilities are extremely impressive. The ability to talk with a media devise began with SIRI and is continuing to improve over time. This ties into our discussion in class about the future of media. Media today is considered to be 2.0 and this is a prime example of how the media will shortly become 3.0 where everything is interactive. I believe that this type of media will engage a lot more people and as the Kinect team believes, will engage consumers to interact with media and television commercials rather than fast forwarding through them. The only part of this media that worries me, is the face recognition. It is one thing to have face recognition in billboards and advertisements in public, but completely unnecessary to be installed in someone home device. Is one complying to use Kinect’s abilities also their okay to allow Kinect software to watch their behaviors when using this media? Even if they are not using customer’s information for other purposes isn’t it intrusive enough to be able to detect their behaviors with Kinect? I understand it is for research purposes but I personally don’t think it is necessary to watch customers reactions while using this devise. They could devise other ways of customers reactions such as using primary research to conduct surveys or interviews to see how customers react to the new software that would be less intrusive than actually viewing consumers. I understand the benefits of viewing, because they would get unbiased reactions and true feelings about the software but I find it unnecessary.

  6. Allie Lord says:

    This article presents a really interesting point, and begs the question, how far are advertisers willing to go? This new technology could indeed be a revolutionary development to the advertising business, but it must be done with care. Transmitting exact video back to advertisers or sending them the audio is going a little to far to me, beyond what I would be comfortable with. However, if it can register reactions or pick up on exact phrases and send the information back in that kind of report format, then NUads can streamline and personalize the advertising process, without all the creepiness of being recorded.

  7. Sam Poloway says:

    While I believe this would be a great step in figuring out just how effective advertising is by judging reactions through the kinect, there is no way I would want this to be the case. In my opinion this infringes too much on our right to privacy and gives companies too much information about how we live our lives. I do not think this is a necessary step in advertising because of the risks involved. Consumers will not want to have more advertising in their lives and I don’t think making them listen to commercials will work. They should find a better, more subtle way of trying to advertise than monitoring the house through audio and video capturing devices. I know now that there is no way I will be getting a Kinect any time soon because of this and other reasons.

  8. Ryan S says:

    I think that this is a great idea of innovation when it comes to advertising tactics, and it would make daily ads we see interactive and maybe even enjoyable. The Kinect is a great piece of technology and its great to know that there are ideas to use it outside the television. But, just like many others I am concerned about the privacy issues regarding this innovation. I think its kind of creepy to have video and audio recordings sent to advertisers so they can use it to target ads at us. Especially having the face recognition technology in this innovation is just going too far considering it happening in leisure activities such as going to the supermarket. It’s great that they are thinking of new ways to advertise but I guess I’m just going to have to see for myself how it will work.

  9. BrIan Allen says:

    Microsoft has a big opportunity to revolutionize television ads on their hands. These NUads, from an advertising standpoint are in the realm of next generation interactivness with advertising. An advertiser will look at this and see the potential to tailor each ad experience down to the individual for maximum marketablility. I am gald to see that Microsoft seems to see the dangers that can arise from this new technology, as far as privacy goes. It does raise some concerns for me as a comsumer if someone would be able to watch my reaction and store it in a database perhaps to be used for other things like face recognition. This screams Minority Report all over.

  10. Ryan Putman says:

    This article raises some flags in my eyes. Reminiscent to 1984’s Big Brother I feel this type of “interactive” advertising can be used for good yet needs to be monitored and controlled as just how far data collectors can go. With the ability to have remote camera access and intuitive data explaining number of humans in living room and there reactions I see possibility for bad. All scepticism aside with direct feedback between consumers and advertisers a lot of the advertisements pointless to a certain consumer group could be minimized. The assimilation of social media sites into the firmware of all most all new products instead of add ons is not my cup of tea and is the type of status I can’t stand to see posted by friends. Like all new inventions this form of user feedback has positives and negatives yet this is innovative and groundbreaking.

  11. Maggy Failing says:

    For the advertising industry, congratulations. NUads will be the most innovative and accurate form of market research, ever. For television viewers, beware. You’re being watched.
    I’m torn on the concept of NUads, I’m not sure of how its benefits to the advertising agencies will outweigh the many privacy concerns it will receive from consumers. While it provides a wealth of knowledge to advertisers I do not think they will be able to overcome the hurdle of privacy issues within the home. Great innovation, but good luck getting it on the market.

  12. Angela says:

    This NUads sensory technology that XBox Kinect is using is remarkable, and truly revolutionary when it comes to consumer research and target ads. I found this article brought up similar issues about privacy presented in the article we read earlier about sensory technology in billboards or posters. I personally feel that knowing your game consul might be watching and recording your every move in the living room is a bit erie, I can imagine how consumers of XBox, and who already play Kinect might find it exciting. It really does suggest that our “home theatre” or living room entertainment can actually be completely personalized. By presenting ads that are similar to the consumer’s taste, exposure of certain brands will increase, but the outcome or results of the consumer’s actions might be hard to measure in this case. Unless the Kinect can pick up on a new piece of clothing or merchandise. If it can pick up on 5 pounds, who’s to say it can’t though?

  13. Emilie Osterkamp says:

    Yikes. I fast forward through ads during regular programming because I don’t want to hear them, or be interrupted while watching my show. The last thing I want is to be basically stalked by advertisements. I see how this idea is revolutionary, however I don’t think it’s for everyone, therefore its potential may not be as broad. For example, many members in my family have Kinect and do not have affiliation with any social networking site, nor do they use email often, so this would be a pain in the you know where other than intriguing. Interesting, but too much interference.

  14. Johnny Escobar says:

    In order for this highly intrusive new technology to be successful, advertisers are going to have to change a few things about their commercials. Everyone always speaks about how great and popular super bowl commercials are, and rightly so. But why are we only presented with mind blowing commercials during the Super Bowl? Advertisers need to bring their “A” game a lot more often then just one time a year for consumers to begin to seriously care about television commercial advertisements. As far as the privacy issue is concerned, we still have the power to turn on and off our television, disable our wi-fi, but if we choose to be a part of modern technology then we also choose to become a part of new privacy changes that come with it.

  15. I think the idea of Nuads is nothing short of brilliant. Being able to see how a customer reacts allows for companies to really pinpoint exactly what they need out of their ads to maximize awareness and profit. I think of it as when you text somebody something you do not really know how they actually react. If you could see how someone reacted you would know what to say next, until you got an exact feel for somebody. This is the same way, you can go off numbers and stats, but when it comes down to it a visual reaction, I feel is the most telling. As far as the privacy issue that is also a very touchy subject and they must make users extremely clear about the extent of them. It seems almost like a law-suit waiting to happen with that must info being presented to other people. That being said I give the idea an A+ if they can get the privacy thing down. This could revolutionize advertising forever.

Comments are closed.