The Logos Quiz Game: Why The Top Free iPad Game This Week is Worth a Fortune

This entry was posted in text. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Logos Quiz Game: Why The Top Free iPad Game This Week is Worth a Fortune

  1. Eleni Pappelis says:

    I have often seen this app on my phone and thought it to be very interesting. I have never played it but it has always caught my attention in being somewhat entertaining to play at some time. However, I did not think of all the potential uses a company could apply to this game. In being able to track the answers these game players choose, companies could potentially see which logo’s are more effective to audiences, which audiences they need to concentrate targeting more, and where they stand with their competitors in terms of audience recognition. Like the article said, this game is very valuable tool for companies.

  2. When it comes to phone apps I am not always up to date on which apps are the most popular because I do not own an i Phone. However, when I do download an app it is because it is something useful rather than entertaining. I find it very interesting that apps could possibly be used for research depending on people’s preferences of apps or choices they make about different apps. I believe this would be a very effective technique for the advertising industry because they would be able to connect with a wide variety of audiences.

  3. Eli Bovarnick says:

    I personally do not own an Iphone but I am familiar with this particular app. In this last week a few of my friends who have the game have been playing it and after trying it out I can see why it is so popular and addicting. I think the appeal of the game is more about the player testing their problem solving and logic skills to find the correct answer more than their devotion to certain brands. The same effect of could be achieved if the player needed to figure out the logos to sports teams, movies, or books. However, this is also an excellent opportunity for companies to assess their brands resonance among those consumers who play the game. As the article says, this game can be very profitable and companies should want to take advantage of this popular app.

  4. Rajan Singhal says:

    This guy is a genius. Although this might just be a fad, being able to go to companies and entice them to pay you to put their logo in the game is amazing. It is such a simple idea, but it is perfect. I would much rather play a game like this and see brand images through the quiz, than on every flat surface. Companies fight to get their brand images in front of consumers so much so that it just becomes too much. If this game proves to have a little staying power, maybe the way brands get their images and recognition to customers will change a little and we can lose some of the over-commercialization occurring in the country and the saturation of advertisements everywhere we look will stop.

  5. Allie Lord says:

    This article was very interesting to me because I myself recently downloaded this app and spent hours going through the levels with my family. I can definitely see this app being great for advertising research purposes, as it tracks the amount of attempts and time spent on each logo. After playing the game, it is clear which brands appeal to different age groups, as my sisters and I recognized many logos that my parents could not and vice versa. Also, there were several brands, particularly cars and beers, that were significantly harder to recognize than others in their market. These brands clearly took longer to recognize than their competition, clearly indicating they need to increase advertising and improve awareness.

  6. Ben Butterfield says:

    I have an Iphone but very rarely do I get on it just to play games. But after seeing this post i went and downloaded the game just to see what it was about and i came to the realization that this was a genius idea. Not only is the app made for entertainment but we are getting company logos secretly burned into our brains. If I was a company that had its logo in this game I would love it because it is free advertising. Think about it you are just having your logo put out there for millions of people to study it and say your company name. Also this is an excellent way to do some market research because you can see how long people spend on each logo and which one needs to be more easily recognizable.

  7. Gabe Herring says:

    I have yet to play this game, but I can see how it would be a very addicting game and because it is an iphone app it is easily accessible. The simplicity of the game gives this app and the fact that it is free could give it addictive qualities. I never thought about all the extra information the app could generate with updates to the software. Its an interesting way for companies to advertise and see how they compete next to other big name brands. This app could definitely be turned into a product with a price because of all of the potential information that could be gathered from it. Its an easy way to get company logos in front of people in hopes that they will remember it. It was a simple idea that could be very affective for companies advertising.

  8. Brittany Neptune says:

    I actually downloaded this game on my iPhone to see what all the hype was about and the author of the article was right, it is addicting. Not only did I feel smart when I got so many guesses of brand names right, but for the brands I didn’t recognize I was intrigued to look them up on the internet so that next time I would get it right. The article mostly focused on the aspect of this game being beneficial in terms of gathering consumer information for marketers of the respective companies represented in the game, but I think the real value of this application lies in its marketing power. Not only is it reinforcing really popular brand names that consumers don’t even have to think twice about, but it also motivates consumers to find out more information about the lesser known brands just as I did (consumer brand expansion). I think it is amazing how consumers subconsciously think this is a game when in fact it is merely a series and another channel for advertising. Multiple times while playing the game the player is prompted with the option to purchase the removal of superfluous ads when ironically the game is centered around the idea of ads.

  9. Sam Poloway says:

    I do not have a smartphone so I had no idea this app was around until this article but it looks interesting. By making the identification of different companies a competition it will probably make the players a lot more aware of the logos and the brands in the game. In doing this it could make logos more noticeable for the players in everyday life too, allowing them to identify new brands that they never had heard of before the game. This could be a great marketing tool for companies that are trying to get their logos noticed and for ones that want more exposure.

  10. Quinn Flaherty says:

    I have a smartphone but haven’t heard of this app until now. I don’t feel that this would be a valuable source of information for companies unless the updates mentioned are made. Even with the information about age, zip, or gender, you still have to consider that this consumer would be very specific considering they have a smartphone in the first place and choose to download apps. I would suspect that this app loses its initial luster to smartphone user relatively quickly as does with most app games. I don’t see this game expanding very far, especially once they become limited with the logos they could pick from. Also, I think a game with such a simple concept would lose the interest of most casual smartphone gamers quickly. I may be all wrong, and the consumer who owns a smartphone and plays a game like this may love it. The brands that the users will constantly be seeing are logos they already most likely see everywhere. Maybe, by repeatably being asked to recall their origin it would spark a user to want that brand.

  11. Ryan Putman says:

    This article is extremely interesting to me as I am a avid user of apps on my Iphone and on the ipad. I am constantly looking for new apps and i have had the pleasure of checking this app out before. Not only is this a fun and addicting time waster as far as the apps entertainment purpose it allows for some very in depth survey information to be collected unconsciously. As a problem with any type of survey is how many people actually use this app compared to the overall amount of consumers. Yet i feel a hesitation to participate in most forms of surveys and this is something that i dont feel intimidated to participate in. Cold calls, surveyors on streets, mailed or emailed surveys all seem tedious and unnecessary to me. Selfish as it might be i dont feel a need to answer a survey unless i get something out of it and with the entertainment factor built in i would participate. Brand recognition is a precise and confusing subject and with the ability to get very specialized information if the app is updated to do certain things could prove very beneficial to companies trying to edge out the competition. Overall its an interesting application and goes to show us just how connected we are becoming in this social network world.

  12. When I took J 201 two years ago, my professor put up a group of logos on the screen. I realized that out of the 30 or so logos on the board, I was only stumped by one of them. I enjoyed looking through the logos and felt satisfied that I knew a good majority of them. From this, I know that this game would be a fun one. But it is interesting to think of this game from a business prospective. If brands could gauge how many consumers were aware of their logo, there is no telling how it could change advertising. Brands could target specific zip codes in new ways based on the group’s knowledge of their brand. I think it is going to be interesting to see what this app does in response to its #1 rating, and what the next updates will be able to tell brands.

  13. This iPad game is not only a fun way to pass the time, but from an advertising standpoint it is genius. Like the article mentioned, brands can utilize the game to find out how many people actually are familiar with their logos or alternative logos, and can use that information to tweak their advertising strategies. If a brand realized that very few people were actually able to recognize their logo, that brand could revamp its advertising strategy to incorporate the logo in new ways. Obviously logo identification is a huge part of advertising and sales; almost everyone can identify the Nike swoosh, McDonald’s golden arches, and Macintosh’s bitten apple. These highly successful companies are doing something right with their advertising strategies, and less known companies could take this app and figure out how recognizable their logo actually is.

  14. Rob Jewett says:

    I actually decided to download this app because of this class. I was very intrigued by the concept of spreading brand familiarity through a free iPhone game. Like everyone else has said, the game is very addicting and isn’t very difficult. There is so much data that companies could gain if they could find out what percentage of people recognized their logo. Not only could data tell them what number of users recognize it, but iPhones carry a lot of other significant data linked with people’s iTunes accounts. This includes age, location, gender, and frequency of time spent on their phones. I checked the Apple App Store the other day and saw that there was now a cheat book for this game that identifies all the brands for you if you want to complete the game easily. This gives smaller companies with less distinguishable logos more attention and credibility as well.

  15. Haley Klatt says:

    This app is pure genius. It is instilling brand logos and loyalty into our brains while we are playing a simple game on our mobile device. Although I don’t have the app, I feel like it would definitely trigger our brains and lead us to new wants and needs. In no way would it cause the user to save money, resulting in more power for each company. The major companies are definitely recognizable on any screen, but this may also be a great way for smaller companies to get their name out there. It may cause the user to want to research the company and see what it’s all about. Nailing down the perfect target audience can now be made easy for companies across the spectrum. Easily figuring out which companies are easily recognized and which ones take a longer search time can drastically help improve how to promote your brand, get your name out, and increase awareness. I can’t wait to download this app on my iPad!

  16. Cody Chambers says:

    I’ve never seen this app before but it does sound interesting. I don’t find it interesting because it sounds fun to play but the concept is very unique. Lets quiz people on branding, and the fact that it climbed up to the number one free game of the week means people are interested in playing. This game is a perfect example of how important branding has become not only to companies but as a part of society. We have become such a large consumer society that branding is not only important to us but we find it rewarding when we know what brand logos are, we can recognize hundreds of them in an instant. This is impart due to the success of companies positioning themselves as recognizable to the public and is a perfect example of why branding yourself is so important in competitive markets. I strongly feel that this game will turn into some sort of test for companies to see how effective their branding is and I’m actually surprised the game wasn’t created for that intention right away.

  17. Dane says:

    I remember seein’ this app for the first time while with a couple class mates during a boring BA lecture. Spent a good amount of time going back and forth figuring out what’s what. I started thinking about how I didn’t know what some of the companies were, then went on to think that maybe they paid the creator to have a position in the game, regardless of how aware people are of their brand. The creator of this app may be running into a nice sum of cash pretty soon.

  18. Emilie Osterkamp says:

    So I downloaded this application after reading the article, and I did pretty well. Better than I thought I would actually! I think the questions asked are really important, or should I say the possibilities phrased in the form of a question. This app truly could be a genius way to gather consumer information. Often consumers hesitate to take part in client research for a variety of reasons, however this is has the potential to be client research without the “players” even knowing they’re giving out information.

  19. Nate Spere says:

    I personally do not see the appeal of this app it seems extremely boring and I see no gratification in it. I think it speaks to how easily people are entertained these days, a game in which you identify a brand by its logo and do nothing else should never get to the top of free games in any list that has games with actual user interaction. The only good thing about this game is the potential for advertisement and market identification. The creator of this game has hit gold in these two instances because of the possibilities it has in logging what markets are familiar with your brand and which aren’t. The only reason though that this market identification and penetration are possible is because people for some reason enjoy playing this game, which to me, is pathetic.

  20. Johnny Escobar says:

    When videos or in this case, an ipad app go viral, the attention span for the consumer is very limited. This app will be hot this week, and by next week something new will have taken its place. In this market it is important for the advertising companies to quickly capitalize on new found popularity and use it to their advantage. I have not played this game yet, but will give it a try merely because of this blog and my continued interest in advertising and marketing.

  21. Ryan S says:

    After I read this article, I instantly went to download the app. After the first time playing through it I found the game very interesting. Not only does it test your personal knowledge of brands in the world, but it shows which brands are more popular than others. While playing the game I found myself realizing which companies have done a great job branding themselves. It just comes to show how powerful branding is and why companies spend so much money on it. But, just like any other app on the iphone it’s popularity will die down soon. That’s the one thing I noticed about the app business, if it is a game it will definitely have its peak and then slowly fall out of interest. But, for the time being this branding app is pretty fun and will probably play it a couple more times and then forget about it.

  22. Casey Winkler says:

    After reading this article, I reread the article to make sure I fully understood it. I then downloaded Logos Quiz Game application and messed around with it for a bit. The app is very interesting and does an impressive job of holding my interest. When playing the game, I could tell which brands have done the best jobs of creating brand awareness and making their brand icons recognizable. However, I feel there are only so many times I can play (brands I can identify) before the app will lose it’s luster. Furthermore, I think this is the case with all apps, and all games in general. Sure, they’re fun and exciting for a while, but how will you make the games more fun and exciting? You don’t. One must create a new app or game to stay relevant in the “app world”. With that being said, there are thousands of apps who never get any recognition or create any awareness, so my hat’s off to Logos Quiz Game for reaching the top, for the time being.

  23. Malee Gunaratne says:

    I had two reactions to this app: firstly, imagine the revenue the maker could attain! And second, how many times can a person play an “identify this or that” kind of game with popular logos?… Estarriaga’s simple game invented for leisure wasn’t supposed to make bank but with the valuable information that can be communicated via participation is incredible. Someone above mentioned that they are weary of taking surveys and giving companies access to their information, and I am the same way. But when compared to all the millions of people who do allow access, Estarriaga could have been an over-night millionaire. But then we approach my second reaction. How will this game continue? Maybe not so much the logistics of the game, but more like there is a limited knowledge the average consumer has of logos. Will the realm of the questions reach so far that we really can’t play, or will the game just be repetitive and become more focused on speed? I obviously haven’t played the game yet so I don’t know exactly how it works. Time to go find out!

Comments are closed.