Hard Time: Liquor Advertising Pours Into TV

This entry was posted in text. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hard Time: Liquor Advertising Pours Into TV

  1. Maggy Failing says:

    I was never aware of the TV advertising requirements for liquor until reading this article. NBC in particular, says that. “as long as 90% of the audience is of legal drinking age (we will accept commercials for spirits.)” While the rest of the industry allows beer, wine or liquor ads, at least 71.6% of the audience must be 21 or older. I think it’s very smart for television networks to monitor the commercials they air and time of day they are shown because so many young viewers can be influenced by the millions of ads they see every year.

  2. Allen N says:

    I was also unaware that there were rules for alcohol ads on television, what with the ubiquity of high profile beer ads during Superbowl weekend and such, though in reflection I realized that I don’t really such many liquor ads in general. With the self-imposed ban ending in ’96, I’m surprised that it took them this long to finally decide to establish a presence on TV. Judging from the picture in the article, it seems like they’re looking to aim towards female consumers with Skinnygirl vodkas and different flavored alcohols, so it’ll be interesting to see the contrast between female oriented alcohol ads and male-oriented beer ads.

  3. Haley Klatt says:

    Until reading this article, I’ve never really thought about liquor ads on television. While trying to remember the last time I saw one, I found it hard to remember distinct ads and when/where they were placed. The liquor industry is one that doesn’t need as much advertising as other products, simply because it will always be in demand. On the note of reducing underage drinking, this is a smart maneuver for the television industry. It is also interesting to see which ads are placed during which television shows. This would be a clear strategy for those advertisers and their direct target audience. The prevalence of the more feminine flavors and brands intrigues me as to how they market to woman and their desires, or what the advertisers think woman like to drink.

  4. lainaelyse says:

    Before reading this article I didn’t pay much attention to the amount of alcohol ads I watch on television. But now that I have read through the article I realize that there has been an increase in the number of different alcohol brands frequently popping up on television. It is interesting to me the shows that have more alcoholic advertisements linked to them. I notice now that I see more ads during Chelsea Lately than I do during a show like the Ellen show. I think it is smart for companies to market during the later hours and understand why that would bring in the most customers. It will be interesting to watch how alcohol advertising change over time and how the advertisements affect the viewers.

  5. Rebecca Sedlak says:

    I forget when I learned about it (probably some time early on in college), but I was aware when I read this article about how hard liquor companies don’t usually advertise on TV, as the article said: “Liquor ads did not appear on any TV, national or local, for much of the 20th century, with the industry honoring a self-imposed ban from 1948 to 1996.” I think it’s pretty interesting, especially when you consider how much beer companies advertise–Budweiser in particular pours lots of money into TV ads. I know there’s the whole idea that advertising hard alcohol on TV could target a younger audience by accident or promote “unhealthy behavior”–probably a vestige of prohibition culture from the early 20th century and even going back to East Coast Puritan roots, if you ask me. I’m always a little surprised when I think about how hard alcohol hasn’t really broken into TV advertising (at least on broadcast, thought by the looks of this article, it’s slowly changing) until now. TV ads offer a different creative aspect than just print ads for alcohol companies.

  6. Bryttnee L says:

    Like many others mentioned in the previous comments, I too was unaware of the restrictions for tv advertisements that involved alcohol. Until reading this article I have never thought about how non-apparent liquor advertisements are on television. I see countless numbers of commercials for Bud Light and many other popular beers, but I can recall the last time, or I have ever seen a television advertisement for liquor. From what I took away from this article, it seems as if advertisers primary goal is to attract people who enjoy low calorie drinks, fruity flavored drinks, or just women in general considering low calorie, and flavorful fruity drinks often attract women. I think that television ads will be beneficial for these companies because as the article explained their main target of consumers for liquor ( could have been a specific type-not sure) was 21-29.

  7. kellypetaja says:

    Until reading this article I had never paid much attention to commercials for alcohol, and was very surprised that there are so many regulations. Looking back and trying to remember the last time I saw an ad for beer or liquor it was hard to think of any. After racking my brain for a few minuets the only commercial that came to my mind was a silly Budweiser commercial I had seen a few weeks ago after watching Chelsea Lately. As stated in the article, “CBS has began accepting liquor ads during late-night programming, ABC has been taking hard-booze during “Jimmy Kimmel Live” and this spring NBC began accepting spirits shows airing after 11 pm”. I think this is important for these networks to do. If we are going to see liquor advertised on television think it is smart for companies to market during later hours. Marketing at this time makes these companies monitor their commercials and increases the likelihood that they are marketing to the right age group.

  8. Eli Bovarnick says:

    It feels like I constantly see ads for alcohol on TV as much as any other type of product so it was surprising to read this article and find out how regulated those advertisement opportunities are. Advertising on television makes a lot of sense for those companies because not only can they display a message in a 30 second spot that they could not in a print ad but they can also select which audience they want to target with placing their ads during specific TV programs. Most of the liquor ads that I see on TV are during programs on ESPN, Comedy Central, and TNT. Lately, I have been introduced to more different alcohol brands through commercials. For example, not only do I now know about Wild Rabbit Hennessy, but I also know that it is the brand that Manny Pacquiao endorses through their TV commercials.

  9. Dustin Haines says:

    Alcohol is a market that will never go out of business but at the same there are many opportunities to increase the sales of alcohol and TV advertising is an ideal place for that. Honestly, I’m surprised that it isn’t until recently that there have been alcohol commercials, although it is understandable due to the reason of not wanting to upset certain demographics because of those who may not be of age or not approve of alcohol use. The biggest competition hard alcohol companies have to compete against are the numerous beer commercials that are constantly being streamed on TV. In comparison it’s David vs. Goliath in the advertising department mainly because of the many time restrictions that are enforced against the Liquor ads. Although, liquor companies look to make a strong push at changing this. The one quote that really stuck out to me was, “Even brands (Liquor) that swore off TV are back.” It just goes to show how powerful advertising through commercials on TV rather than say magazines is.

Comments are closed.