For Your Ads Only: 50 Years of James Bond Product Placement

For Your Ads Only: 50 Years of James Bond Product Placement - Bloomberg

Photograph by Everett Collection

“According to the Sunday Times, MGM and Sony (SNE) plan to raise $45 million worth of Skyfall’s budget from companies wanting to include their brands onscreen, more than double the previous product placement record held by the 2002 sci-fi film Minority Report.” (Julian Sancton, Bloomberg BusinessWeek)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For Your Ads Only: 50 Years of James Bond Product Placement

  1. Bryttnee L says:

    Product placement is an interesting, yet very effective approach. As a consumer of a lot of media, I don’t always notice the product placement, and sometimes I think it is just a coincidence that a specific product was very nicely placed in front of the camera. As this article explains the different products used for product placement in the James Bond movies, I think it that it is somewhat comparable to the product placement that takes place in the Transformers movies. The Camaro used in the Transformers movies was most definitely a partnership with the makers of that particular vehicle. I think that product placement is very effective, especially if feature film is popular. For me, I know associate the yellow Camaro with the movie Transformers and I believe that many people most likely purchased the same vehicle because of product placement.

  2. I view product placement as a game. A lot of people that I know in the SOJC absolutely hate product placement in movies and television shows, but I like to have a more positive view of this campaign strategy. Every time I watch a movie or a TV show I keep my eyes open for product placement, it is my version of an Easter egg hunt. It can be a good exercise for those of us in the “idea industry”, because it can be helpful to brainstorm why these products are being used for these consumer markets. Product placement also makes a lot of sense in terms of branding, because it isn’t surprising that consumers begin to associate certain products with their favorite movie, TV program, or actor.

Comments are closed.