Parents decry marketers who push sexuality on little girls

This entry was posted in text, video. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Parents decry marketers who push sexuality on little girls

  1. Dustin Haines says:

    This article speaks volumes to parents that are dealing with this child directed advertisement that is giving children “pester power” in order to essentially force their parents to give in and purchase these unnecessary goods. It’s a disgusting problem that America is now faced with when having to try and communicate to their children that they should be happy with who they are and not to worry about trying to portray this “grown-up girl” look. The one stat that really jumped out at me was that nearly 80% of children under age 5 use the Internet at least once a week, and children ages 8 to 10 spend about 5.5 hours a day using media. Companies take advantage of this by focusing their advertisements for children rather than their parents. If ads would be more appropriate towards this age group by being more educational rather than persuasive then it could help children accept themselves for who they are.

  2. E Ford says:

    Yes. The world is changing. Children are acting more grown up at earlier ages and they are being exposed to adult themes seemingly without limits. Of course I, a college student of limited means, have better communications technology available to me here in my home office (high speed internet, Google, etc) than did President Clinton. My point is, the world is changing. Are marketers causing any of this? Or are they just responding to it? The quality of your parenting is going to make or break your child’s development, not pre-teen advertising.

  3. rcochran22 says:

    The bottom end of “tween—hood” is indeed starting younger at the alarming age of five or six and reflects a severe societal problem within our country. As a child, I had no idea what the term, “sexy” meant and barely knew what a manicure was. When they showed the clip of little six-year olds receiving manicures, I was floored. Marketers have indeed exploited their marketing power in despicable ways when it comes to the innocence of young children. Children in elementary school should not be troubled with the need to be sexy but instead should focus on simply being a child. I have even noticed the increased maturity rate in my own younger siblings. When my sister was in 5th grade, she demanded make-up kits for birthdays and Christmas. Unfortunately, I do not think these marketing ploys will stop and will only get worse in time due to easily accessible “pester power.” Pretty soon, childhood will be nothing but a myth.

  4. Jessica Katz says:

    There has always been, to some degree an obsession with the idea of perfection. I mean there were Barbies in the late 50s with that impossible waist, round derriere and large boobs. I think the problem with the industry today is that the people running it were exposed to this Barbie like perfection way back then and that seed has been planted in them only to spread. Though with children, especially young girls today, the pressure to be skinny or pretty comes at a much younger age. I myself didn’t feel that pressure until I entered high school so I can see why it is such a problem with the younger generation. I myself do not feel overly exposed to this sort of media so it’s hard for me to sympathize with parents in attempting to shelter their children. Minimizing television, music and shopping is not the answer in my opinion because at some point these kids will find out and get wrapped up in the media. The fact of the matter is media is inevitable, I don’t think childhood is disappearing and I do think parents of today could do a better job.

Comments are closed.