Define Ad

This entry was posted in podcast. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Define Ad

  1. Andrew Gust says:

    I completely understand why word of mouth is such a beneficial tool for advertising, especially on the internet. Whenever I buy items online I always research what other people have said about it. I buy a lot of camping gear from REI, and each item has customers reviews of the product which makes it easy decided what will be best for me. Also, I have noticed businesses in Eugene attempting to disguise them self as customers who are reviewing there business.
    Property Management Concepts is my rental company next year and when I looked at the google review 2 or 3 people gave way to pleasant and cheesy of reviews to be students. One actually dissed their competitors for “charging an arm and a leg”
    http://maps.google.com/maps/place?rlz=1C1TSNO_enUS467US467&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=property+management+concepts&fb=1&gl=us&hq=property+management+concepts&hnear=0x54c119b0ac501919:0x57ec61894a43894d,Eugene,+OR&cid=7668315617417177959&ei=QzWHT_yzAYLUiAKT5LWqAg&sa=X&oi=local_result&ct=placepage-link&resnum=1&ved=0CEIQ4gkwAA

  2. Andrew Gust says:

    *in my previous post I say they dissed their competitors by saying they are “charging an arm and a leg.” But that statement is actually about them. But I believe that Kurt, Sarah, and possibly James are employees. What do you guys think?

  3. Rebecca Hasler says:

    The trend of popular bloggers advertising products on their sites and through their videos has become increasingly common. I can think of a number of popular youtubers and bloggers who are clearly paid to advertise a product. One of my favorite examples of this type of advertising is for
    MiO liquid water enhancer in the “sassy gay friend” YouTube videos. He promotes this product in a blatant and comical way. Other sites that have capatilized off of this trend include sites like yelp where you have the option to connect to your Facebook account, to see what your friends are saying about local businesses and products.

    Here is the link to the sassy gay friend video:

  4. angelaachapman says:

    I think the Word of Mouth Marketing concept that Andy Sernovitz coined in his book is very interesting — but also pretty obvious in my opinion. Word of mouth “marketing” isn’t a new concept and has been around since consumption began! I know personally, I won’t buy a product if I know it’s not legitimate. While I was reading this article, I kept thinking about the diffusion of innovations theory. The theory states that there are 5 stages in adapting products. There are innovators (who purchase the product first); early adopters; early majority; late majority; and laggards. Innovators tend to be the smallest group of people, but I can’t help but wonder with the world of social media growing, and the amount of new innovations/advertising out there, will this number increase? I have had a Twitter account for a few years now, and it has been interesting to see the transition from sometimes declaring an ad within a tweet (although, I’ve never seen the words “A-D-:”), to now actually having random ads in your feed, or in your follow suggestions without following the brands. I think that the FTC is doing right by society for being harsher on social media advertising regulations. It’s not fair to advertise something to people without making it clear that they are being paid for it! There was an incredibly negative response to the Wal-Mart fake blog where a family posed as RVers traveling and camping out at Wal-Marts! It was called Walmarting Across America, and CNN lists it as #54 on their 101 Dumbest Moments in Business article!
    http://money.cnn.com/galleries/2007/biz2/0701/gallery.101dumbest_2007/54.html

  5. rcochran22 says:

    Word of mouth marketing has been one of the most powerful forms of marketing for it has the ability to either glamorize the reputation of a product or tarnish it. Trust must exist for stakeholders to have any relationship with brands and positive word of mouth marketing is the quickest way to develop this trust. Although, the fact that marketers fake word of mouth has made a huge impact on a consumer’s likelihood to trust and is a sad indication of how unethical advertising can be. Is this product or service really what this fellow consumer claims it to be or am I being duped? We as a consumer already know that advertisers/marketers are attempting everything they can to sell their product but we now have to rethink what our fellow consumer’s true motives are as well: great advice or another pitch in disguise? The only sure way for marketers to create trust is to make a solid promise and deliver on it. Once trust is fully established on a product that has gone viral, great results are sure to follow.

Comments are closed.