Social Media Revolution 3

It’s an ad for a book (and an idea), which is interesting in itself, but this “trailer” also has some interesting factoids about social media.  Thanks to Lauren for passing this along.

This entry was posted in video. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Social Media Revolution 3

  1. sean kim says:

    Wow, this video was very interesting, it got me hooked into, there were so many facts to read throughout the whole video, i didnt realize how social media is taking over the world, I thought it was crazy that people were naming there kids Facebook. I also thought it was interesting that 50% of the population is under 30, so that would make half the world know well about facebook and internet.

  2. This is just a glimpse at what’s to come as far as the power of networking in our lifetimes. This video definitely has tons of really interesting facts and does a great job at illustrating the fact that we really have no idea how big this is going to get or how it will continuously affect the world in the future. Especially, like Sean said, in the fact that over 50% of the world’s population is under 30. This exponential growth will surely become a huge topic in the next few decades.

  3. Chie Oda says:

    This video is very interesting. Also, I felt scary because I didn’t know that social media was related to our world too deeply and had large portion of society. I can say that our world turns at the center of social media. Are chances of business only in social media? I am wondering where systems, products or industry social media makes useless are going in future.

  4. Heidi Payghambari says:

    What caught my attention in this video was the fast slide mentioning China’s ban on certain social media network such as Twitter, facebook, and the ever so popular youtube. I used to live in a few countries in Asia and all those countries banned these websites as well. They were seen as revolutionary tools. However, people still find ways to break those bans. There are filters that you can download which will make it as easy it is over in the US to access these sites. This all goes to show how powerful social media has become that governments try to ban then and then citizens defy the bans to use them.

  5. Layc Looney says:

    Babies in Egypt have been named Facebook. Wow. These videos always are fascinating to me. I remember the first one I watched in my J201 class. Even since then so much more information has been added to it, like different types of social media networks and facts about new products, such as the iPad. Some of this information can seem scary, but it is so unstoppable that it is amazing!

    • Scott Wooley says:

      Out of all the statistics that were thrown at us, I will remember the children being named Facebook. That was unbelievable. I could almost understand naming your child Twitter, Google, or Linkedin more than I can understand Facebook.

  6. Brin McAtee says:

    This video was a big eye-opener for me, especially since I didn’t catch on to the internet phase until much later than my peers. And it took me even longer to start chatting, emailing, and blogging. Everyone keeps reminding me about how my generation grew up online or how we are the “millennials” so I never gave it much thought. But the idea that the site I visit when I’m bored is also considered the center of a revolution is mind boggling. I guess it matters to someone. It will be scary to see what the next generation brings.

  7. I have seen these Social Media Revolution videos before and it feels so eerie every time I watch on. From the empowering, soulful music to the astounding, unbelievable facts, these videos really do represent a revolution in not only the way people communicate and consume, but live as well. The fact I found most applicable to this class was that 95% of consumers trust peer recommendations and only 14% trust advertisements. This is truly a revolution in the way I see advertising working and it will be interesting to watch the industry evolve in coming years.

  8. Jayson Hobby says:

    After watching this and truly realizing how many people in the world use Social Media, it’s really funny to me to still know people who do not use Facebook. I still do not understand individuals who refuse to use Social Media and act like it is some form of taboo. I also think it is absolutely wild that between three pop icons twitter accounts, populations of major countries all around the world are out matched.

  9. Ellie Boggs says:

    This video brings up a question I’ve been wondering about social media. Where does it fit in to the job descriptions of marketers, advertisers and PR professionals? I know from previous classes that social media is used extremely prevalently in PR for promotion and advocacy, which makes me assume social media falls more into the PR area and not necessarily the marketing or Ad areas. However, the video did mention that marketers are using social media.

  10. Katie M. says:

    I was surprised how quickly all of the information was shown. Having not taken in all of the information, it still leaves me wondering about the video and about its true message. Although it ended with a book promotion, it seemed there was little information given about the book, and even the stance the book takes on the issue of social media.

  11. Molly Johnson says:

    I think the most influential part for business owners and business marketers need to take from this video is the fact that more people trust what their friends say on facebook, twitter, a blog, etc. than they do on what you advertise to them. This means an increase of customer relations and creating an ambiance that people will want to talk about or post on their social network. It no longer is only up to advertisers to draw people in.

  12. Amber Heitkemper says:

    I like the quote that said we don’t have a choice on to do but how we do it. Which I believe is true because almost every one is joining the social network and now google has created google+ which is a form of twitter and facebook. It is true that people will listen to their fiends opinions more then actual advertisements.

  13. Katie Doyle says:

    WOW. That is all i have to say. I think that in some ways, all this new social media stuff is very good and a step forwad. But on the other hand, i can also see it as going into a negative direction. like everything, social media is good in moderation. I really hope that the world does not become to overwhelmed and involved with technology that we stop ionteractiing alltogether.

  14. Evon Sahaleh says:

    I really liked this video and found it very interesting. I think the video does a good job showing off how important ads are in our daily life and how individuals are able to base their life directly off of ads. I thought the video was cool because it incorporated social media into the video and talked about how big of a role it has become in the ad world.

  15. Erik Larson says:

    Side note, that song is an african choir singing the lord’s prayer in swahili. In case anyone was wondering. I’m currently on google+, and it’s important to note that if you don’t have anybody to be social with, it’s not much of a social network.

  16. allyson flournoy says:

    In my media professions class we had a guest speaker telling us all about these types of advertising and how these kinetic text stories if done the write way can really make the message resonate. I love the text in this video and how they almost make the text “act”. I love it.

  17. My sidenote is..hey anyone with google+ want to invite me? Hahah…

    Anyway, I actually had read about kids in Egypt being named Facebook from a class I took last term about revolutions. This is a link to a little explanation about it, and I think it’s actually a really cool concept. I know some people are critical of that because it seems like someone is just blindly naming a child after some cool trend or product, like naming a kid Nike (which I bet actually happens now that I think about it..) or Safeway. But when you think about it, Facebook was the KEY to the revolution in Egypt, and that facebook for them means something more closely associated with freedom, revolution, and democracy rather than last weekend, FBO relationships, and creeping on your friends.

    This video was really cool and had some amazing statistics, it kind of gave me the shivers to understand how incredibly large social media is, and that it really is a significant part of our lives, whether we like it or not.

  18. this video was sick, the stats and info were nuts. this ad makes me want to buy the book now and the music was placed wonderfully.

  19. Kyle Ruble says:

    Wow this was so interesting, glad someone has taken all this information and presented it in this method. Most intriguing was the part about China and how although Facebook would be the 3rd largest country if it was one China would definitely push it into number one.

Comments are closed.