Facebook’s New ‘Comments’ Let Users Interact With Ads

This entry was posted in text, video. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Facebook’s New ‘Comments’ Let Users Interact With Ads

  1. Facebook has just been waiting to amasses millions of users before it opened the door for advertisement. “We’re just asking them to participate in the conversation,” sounds like something an advertiser would say. Whether people are simply joining the conversation or engaging with brands, it still comes down to the fact that companies are getting the attention they want to promote their product. It is a new technique, but still advertisement. I hope that Facebook doesn’t completely open the gates to continuous advertisement, I mean that’s part of why the site is so appealing and user friendly – no page long ads or anything distracting from the online social experience. Just curious because the video at the bottom of this article alludes to them adopting ads on the news feed.

  2. Trevor Fox says:

    Yeah, I agree with you Bryce. Facebook has been waiting to open the door to this and it also will make them a lot of money from companies who want to advertise on facebook. There’s a poll on the link and it says that 71% of users say they will not comment on the ads, and I know that I probably wont. I mean people are on facebook to talk to their friends and not a brand.

  3. Chie Oda says:

    I agree with Trevor. I think people who use facebook want to contact with their friends, not companies. If facebook concentrates on advertising to make much money and forgets true purpose, people will stop using facebook. However, users of facebook can use new comments well. If users have questions to companies or want to contact with them, this new system must be useful. Companies can get new customers from facebook. Although I don’t prefer that life is surrounded by lots of advertising, when facebook can handle this system well, companies, users and facebook can get profit.

  4. Scott Wooley says:

    Hard to say anything different than you 3 already have because I agree with all of you. Facebook should be careful because they are on the verge of turning off their users. With the new launch of Google+, Facebook needs to keep its users happy and not become another Myspace.

    On the other hand, this is a great tool for advertisers. This is information that companies will love to have (demographics included), even if only 29% of Facebook users interact and comment on ads.

  5. Heidi Payghambari says:

    Definitely agree with the previous four comments, and personally don’t think that Facebook should be pushing its limits to incorporate more advertising because as Scott said, it is potentially close to losing its initial popularity. However, I do feel like the idea to have face-bookers interact with brands could work for older demographics. I worked with Fred Meyer’s advertising department and you would be surprised how many of its Facebook followers respond to the questions and comments the company posts.

  6. Julia Ortinez-Hansen says:

    Again I agree with what everyone else has said, I feel as though facebook has been getting very corporate and ad bases-needless to say I still love it, but I just feel as though people are going to start moving away from it if they are going in that direction. As Trevor said 71% of people say that they will not comment on the advertisements. It just seems obvious that people do not want it, so I am interested to see where they go.

  7. allyson flournoy says:

    The ads on facebook personally do not bother me. By my browsing on the internet facebook has strategically placed ads of places that I commonly go, such as online shopping. There have been countless times where my favorite stores pop up on the side of the page and click on them to go to that website, almost as a reminder i haven’t been there in a while.

  8. Amber Heitkemper says:

    I think that the ads they place on facebook are usually things I am interested in or have surfed the internet for. i do not think that many people will comment on the ads but more people will start to like them because that is easier and you still can get all the information about the ads or brands.

  9. Molly Johnson says:

    Like we’ve discussed in class, Facebook ads do not phase me. I pretty much ignore them and don’t notice them even though I use the social network every day. I agree with previous comments when I say that I think Facebook is trying to justify their ad space by putting a twist on internet ads by incorporating the comment function. I think it would take a certain personality to actually use this tool and think it was a good idea, but most Facebook “costumers” aren’t that personality.

  10. Yes, that’s great…”participate in the conversation”
    I think we as consumers have never made it easier for goods and services. By asking for this participation it makes ad watchers feel like their voice matters, so privileged! I still feel negative about this idea though just because these things bother me on facebook. It seems like it’s the people I don’t want to hear from that are participating in every opportunity they get to type away on facebook; this application may be the hardest to ignore. Oh well, I’ll be immune to it soon enough.

  11. Michelle Litchman says:

    I clicked on the link and before I could even begin reading the article an ad for something about facebook popped up. it is my understanding that most facebook users use facebook for social or work related purposes, but mostly social. we post pictures of parties, events and friends. we stay in touch with friends and provide links to blogs and twitters to shamelessly self promote, but we don’t use facebook to be bombarded with advertisements. i don’t know one person who does anything on facebook related to the advertisements, except note that sometimes they are creepy and other times weird (i’m 21 and they often send me ads about dating websites, really? do i really need ot think about my soulmate?)

  12. Layc Looney says:

    Before I joined Facebook I was dead set on not ever creating an account. I was probably one of the last of my friends to set up an account, I never even got on their accounts to see what it was like. I was perfectly fine with my Myspace. Haha. But then I started getting annoyed with how cluttered and little kid-ish Myspace became. So I set up my Facebook when I got to college. I used it just as much as my friends and had fun with it. But then it too started changing. It seemed like every other week something new would happen, I became more aware of the ads on Facebook and I also noticed that the ads were targeting me and what I would say or do on the Internet while I was logged on. That started creeping me out, and slowly I have developed less interest in Facebook….but I still have to get my social media fix, I switched to Twitter. 😉 Less obvious advertising. However, there are more personal opinions and reviews on products from people and companies I can choose to be interested in.

  13. I wonder if Mark Zuckerberg (or whoever created Facebook) ever anticipated this coming. It sounds interesting but it also invasive and annoying. What I am understanding is that if I “comment” on an ad it will appear on my news feed? That sounds obnoxious and heading in the Myspace direction. Like the previous comments above, the continuous creation of new social media will always keep people coming. Hopefully Facebook doesn’t shoot itself in the foot with this stunt and send more people running towards Google+.

  14. Kristen Andersen says:

    Although I don’t like the idea of something tracking my web use, I don’t mind the ads on the sides because often I am interested in the product, like clothing ads or movies I’m interested in. But when it gives me ads about things around Eugene I start to wonder if ads are a good thing. But because they are on the side and are not too prominent it is easy to just ignore the ads and focus on what you want to look at.

  15. Ellie Boggs says:

    I think the idea sounds like an innovative way to increase the conversation on products, services and organization. These discussions don’t become part of your newsfeed unless you or your friend comment on them and would mean the conversation may be relevant to me anyways. I really like this. It reminds me of the way Twitter can be educationally, and culturally enlightening, as well as socially helpful, because I don’t just see my friends posts on Twitter I see news, politics, opinions, organization etc. As long as it doesn’t become to advertising/ pop up oriented, I think this will be positive.

  16. alexandra reyes says:

    I doubt anyone was surprised that facebook added advertising. I don’t really think that they had to wait so long to add them. Maybe they could have just put a few up there in the first couple of years. I don’t understand why ad companies or facebook would think that people would want to spend their time commenting on ads. Maybe that small population is extremely opinionated and will help them makes ads in the future. When I went onto facebook, I like that it was private in the sense that I didn’t have to look at ads that I have to see on other websites. I know that the internet is not really a private place, but Facebook was a break from the norm for me. It was a way to talk to friends or family, and also see pictures. Now it’s just another place where I have to deal with the stupid sight of ads.

  17. Evon Sahaleh says:

    I agree with a lot of the comments stated above. My main point is here that facebook needs to pepper down on the ads before they lose a majority of their users to different sites. With google+ now up and coming facebook needs to be careful that they dont slip and become the next Myspace.

  18. Max Williams says:

    This seems like something that could be pretty effective. It’s kind of another example of how public relations and advertising are coming together in some ways, especially with new media. The idea of getting feedback from customers is technically more of a PR thing, but then to use it for ads is a testemonial form of advertising that may be more effective than testimonials on things like infomercials.

  19. Kyle Ruble says:

    Facebook is a very effective medium to spread advertisement, I think that It is good that they can become so successful through this. With comments though this makes it even better as consumers can post their own feelings. This would be great for target audience testing so things like the Superbowl ad for Groupon would never happen.

Comments are closed.