Define Ad

This entry was posted in podcast. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Define Ad

  1. blueeyedleah says:

    I have mixed feelings about this article. I can definitely see what the problem is, and it is dangerous for all of the overly trusting consumers out there because they will probably be seduced by these advertisements, thinking they are coming from legitimate consumers honestly expressing their opinions. However, I would hope this is not a majority of the population, and I know personally that unless the advertising message was coming from a friend or a trusted source I wouldn’t give it a lot of credit. Meaning, if there are people out in the blogosphere or Twitter that are being paid by a company to write ad messages, unless I knew them and/or trusted their opinion that message would not mean a lot to me, making the issue seem less serious to me.

  2. When it comes to ads like these, I am unaffected. When something like “Hey Bryce, I was just checking out this NEW site that sell all kinds of awesome stuff!!! You can buy sunglasses sunglasses, swim trunks, …[etc.]” is posted on my wall in a voice that never matches anyone but a spammer, I know that someone’s account has been hacked. Luckily, when a close friend messages you about something, you can usually tell by the voice and the fact that conversation generally includes something personal that they aren’t just a spammer. But how often do friends recommend purchases to you through social media. I’m not a girl, but I feel like I can vouch for most of the male population.

    • I agree with Leah about the need to label ads as ads when it’s people promoting them at the company’s expense. The system Twitter is adopting seems like the best solution. Not sure how FB would go about it because there would need to be some kind of indication for every post a promoting person is involved with. Maybe a little black symbol next to their name or something…

    • Scott Wooley says:

      I agree with you Bryce. “Word of Mouth” ads are very recognizable on Twitter and Facebook because of the wording/you know this person would not be telling you about sunglasses and swim trunks. I think this form of advertising would be really ineffective, but I don’t have the numbers to back that up. When I want to learn about a service, or if someone tells me about a product, I usually have those conversations person to person.

  3. Trevor Fox says:

    Yeah Bryce, you and Scott pretty much hit it right on the head, I know when someone’s facebook has been hacked and when I see those ads I am instantly turned off to them. I also know that if i click on them i risk my page also being hacked. There is a huge difference between word of mouth and someone blogging about something. If I were to hear it from a friend in actual life I would be more willing to check a product out rather then online where everything seems to be an ad these days.

  4. Amber Heitkemper says:

    If an ad like this appeared on my facebook or to my email I would not read it or looked at it if it was not from one of my friends. If you wonder about a product you engage in conversations over the phone via text messages with your friends to find out more about it. Also when people’s facebooks get hacked they usually write on walls of friends who they do not normally talk to on regularly basis because that is what happened to me.

  5. “It has always been illegal to advertise something and not tell people you were paid for it.” I had no idea this was true. I think it’s dandy but impossible to enforce, now that I think about it i’m sure there are armies of these fake fans and there is no way to scan for genuiness via the internet, it’s hard even over text message, it’s good that people know the rules but what’s the point really…

  6. Michelle Litchman says:

    I tend to believe, or at least like to believe, that I am not an easy person to maniuplate. that my stubborn ways make me a tough egg to crack. However, articles like this really make me feel manipulated. Why do I do the things i do? I have NO idea. it’s sad. I hope that by being an advertising major I will be able to more successfully understand the industry and what I am really seeing, reading and hearing when I view advertisements.

  7. Ellie Boggs says:

    I think it’s easy to tell when someone’s been hacked on Facebook and someone’s spamming. The real issue begins when bloggers post things that actually seem real, or things at least their loyal followers believe. There are people who can advocate for things seamlessly and when some one has a large, loyal following, I seriously doubt anyone questions them. Like the article said, a trusted person or organization, such as the Huffington Post, may not be called out for advertising, but an unimportant individual might. I think it’s a question of personal ethics, or organizational, ethics. If it gets out that you’re being paid to promote a product and you’ve kept that under wraps, your or your organizations name could be damaged.

  8. Kristen Andersen says:

    When dealing with sites like Facebook or checking email messages, spam is reasonably easy to spot and when the message says to click something DONT CLICK IT- because then you yourself will be the spammer. Like Bryce said if a friend messages you not writes on your wall you know their tone of voice and can guess that they genuinely like the product. And other ways ads can spread word of mouth is through conversations with friends and text messages if you are really interested in the product

Comments are closed.