Best Selling

This entry was posted in podcast. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Best Selling

  1. Ellie Boggs says:

    Personally, I don’t have a problem with the online advertising discussed in this article, but maybe that’s because I have more information than most do on the issue. Randall Rothenburg discusses the need for public education on the issue and I agree completely. If people aren’t educated about online advertising they’re going to be distrustful of it, so that aspect needs to be developed to help with public concern.

  2. I agree with Ellie in that I don’t have a problem with personalized ads on the internet. This leads to a much bigger issue of information flow, however. It’s not just ads that are being personalized to us, it’s turning into everything from our Facebook news feeds to what comes up in our Google searches. This shorter TED talk explains all:

  3. Michelle Litchman says:

    I think personalized advertisements are funny. I often get “personalized ads” that are completely innaccurate. Facebook often advertises gear for the sorority Delta Gamma, but i am not a member of that sorority (i am an alpha phi, and in numerous facebook groups to prove it) and they also advertise many dating websites, i mean maybe i am wrong but i think 21 is too young to need an eharmony account.

    • Scott Wooley says:

      Personalized ads can be funny when you can make a connection of what you “liked” to get that ad directed to you. I have no problem with personalized advertisements. If we are putting all of our information on Facebook, we cannot expect privacy from ads. Privacy goes away once you put information online.

  4. Kristen Andersen says:

    Facebook is a prime example of personalized ads because after recent google searches or purchases, the ads that pop up on the side of my newsfeed are always similar to what I’ve just done. Sometimes this is helpful and sometimes the ads are way off base, advertising ( like right now) jewish egg donations. I am not jewish but ads like that sometimes pop up and i have to wonder why facebook thinks these ads are appropriate for me. The more a person accesses the internet, the less privacy one has

  5. Amber Heitkemper says:

    Facebook always tries to match what you search or the websites you go on and places ads on your sidebars so you will click. Also it shows recent pages your friends have to gone or even places they have checked-in. Which i think is interesting because they are trying to throw all these ads at you hoping you will click on one. I honestly have never clicked on the side ads because if I wanted to look at the product I would go to the website my self.

  6. alexandra reyes says:

    I have no problem with personalized ads and public shouldn’t either. However, like people said before, the public needs to be educated. Google needs to make it easy to find out how the personalized works so if people have question or problems it can be one click away. However, I can see why people may have a problem with this. I just heard that the government would make it okay for other companies to look at your facebook and report back to them or something like that. That I don’t like. If you place private things on the web it should be respected. However, there is little respect for your stuff on the web. People don’t want hackers getting their information, that is the most important part.

Comments are closed.