An Eye for an Eye

This entry was posted in podcast. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to An Eye for an Eye

  1. sean kim says:

    This reminded me of that book about panopticism. This kinda of creeps me out how billboards are going to be looking at you whenever you see an ad, but in a way its very interesting how they are creating new ways to figure out what they need to fix and how to get the message out better.

  2. blueeyedleah says:

    I like the idea of Billboards changing to match the consumer looking at them, but I think we are a long way off from the concept shown in “Minority Report”. I mean how would they handle the amount of traffic that passes in front of a poster/board if they wanted it to read each person? I think the idea of the software is cool, but it could get creepy really fast.

  3. Molly Johnson says:

    I agree with Sean and Leah. While I think the technology is extremely innovative and cool, it’s a little too much for my liking. There is an element of sci-fi (i love Leah’s Minority Report comparison) about this billboard that is too futuristic and crazy for me. I wish he had gone into more detail in where else this technology could be applied elsewhere.

  4. Based on the previous comments, it seems that even our tech-savvy generation is going to be distraught and uncomfortable with the future of technology, as many of our parents and grand parents have already lived through. This technology doesn’t even seem that scary to me in how he described that it’s just taking head counts for info. It’s when this technology is even quicker and more precise that it’s assessment and extreme observation of foot traffic could get questionable. In all, I’m just curious where technology will take us throughout the rest of our lives – betting it will go beyond where any of us really envision it to.

  5. I’m pretty lax with advertisements and morals but this one creeps me out. I don’t doubt the technology behind it and the statistics it can produce. I feel like advertising can’t work like this! it’s supposed to be a mystery, no sales, no numbers! This is a way to almost precisely record the attention something receives and demographics behind it. Not cool.

  6. Scott Wooley says:

    “So if Fabio walks by..” I thought that was funny. I have no problem with this if it really is just a “head count”. Just another tool for primary research.

  7. nedmills says:

    I like the idea of having a advertisement being more specific to you. I think it’s a little strange and maybe even unrealistic to think that a ad can simply base itself on your appearance. I think the idea of honing in on a specific interest is the way to go but I figure the only way you can do this is by primary research. I think this in some ways is simply just generalizing and assuming things about people.

  8. this reminds me of 1984 and the Apple ad. this ad defiantly gets peoples attention.

  9. Kristen Andersen says:

    having advertisements be more specific to you just means more trackings of your computer history and more ads on facebook sidebars that target our interests. but having an ad that will look at you is going to far

Comments are closed.