Ellie passed these along…thanks! (Here are just three of them, but you can find more on YouTube, including the original Eminem/Super Bowl spot.)

Can you put the concept of this campaign into a SMIT?  What strategy do you think was included in the original creative brief?

This entry was posted in video. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to

  1. SMIT at least for the latter two ads seems to be: Chrysler will make you big. OR Hard workers drive Chrysler. OR You’ll make it big driving Chrysler. It definitely caters to the higher class of living, seemingly aimed at those who haven’t made it yet but are compassionate to do so. This is a young eager demographic, probably in the 18-26 range. This is further emphasized by the use of cities in the campaign: NY, LA, Detroit. I wouldn’t be surprised if they targeted other big cities like Atlanta, SF, and Chicago for the extendibility of the campaign.

  2. Ellie Boggs says:

    I’d say of the three possible SMIT’s Bryce mentioned, “You’ll make it big driving Chrysler,” is the one that’s closest to what the original may have been. The ads are definitely aiming for the younger professional demographic. Perhaps, not as young of a demographic at Bryce mentioned, but still probably 25-35. Chrysler wants to target men you want to be upwardly mobile in their careers. That’s why they use the people and the music they do…Eminem in the last commercial etc.

  3. I love how it says “Imported from Detroit” at the end…as if Detroit was it’s own country. I think it gives the ads an extra edge. This may play into the message, “Want to be the next big thing? Own the next big thing”
    Kinda like owning a rolex or swiss gear. If you have this, then you will be considered successful and of a higher standard.
    “Drive a Chrysler, you’ll go far.”

  4. I really love this campaign. It’s definitely very edgy and different. If you watch the original one too, which was apparently the longest Super Bowl ad ever (2 minutes), you also see the side of the campaign that focuses on the trouble that Chrysler and Detroit have both had in recent years, with manufacturing going down and the bailout. To me, the original begins the message that Chrysler and Detroit (and American autos in general) are still relevant. As for audience, they get that more affluent group that likes imported cars, but also they get the more average, middle-America group because they demonstrate their hard-working, humble values. And then after seeing the first one, you also notice how the themes are repeated in the later commercials, and also in the print ads (as I’m sure you can tell, I am totally impressed by this campaign) 🙂
    I think their original idea was to show that they’re not the same company that people associate with the bailout or recession, and are instead stronger for having been through so much. They bring Detroit into most of the ads, or at least some element of becoming successful after beginning with very little and working hard.

    This is the link to the original if anyone is curious: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKL254Y_jtc

    And for everyone from Portland (the agency that did all of these is Wieden+Kennedy), there’s also an ad that was filmed in Portland and features Ndamukong Suh, who played football at Grant High School, which they show, and later for Nebraska and now the Detroit Lions. It’s a really cool element that they added, I think.

    As for a possible SMIT, something that I think of is: “We’re still here and we still matter.” or “If we made it through this, we’ll make it through anything.” Or maybe “We’ve changed.” or “Our values are your values.”

    • Scott Wooley says:

      I was going to post the Ndamukong Suh video, but you already did it! This is by far my favorite Chrysler commercial because I am from Oregon and a huge football fan. When I saw this commercial for the first time, I had goosebumps.
      SMIT: “Hard nosed luxury”.

      • I really like that SMIT you came up with! I think it’s really edgy and juxtaposes two different ideas, but it definitely fits with what Chrysler seems to be trying to do. Sorry I posted it before you! I really like the ads that Chrysler has come out with in this campaign, and I can’t resist telling everybody about them!

        This is definitely one of my favorites, because it does show Portland and it really achieves what they’re actually saying. It’s a pet peeve of mine in movies that take place in “Portland” and then they’re obviously filmed in other places, with maybe some footage of a few bridges and Mt. Hood. I always want to say, “hey there aren’t palm trees and houses like that here..”

  5. This is the link to the Chrysler YouTube channel, because otherwise I think I’ll just continue to geek out and leave the links for all the other commercials.
    http://www.youtube.com/user/chrysler

    It’s also interesting to watch the commercials that are for the Town and Country, which is a mini-van, because they are the most different in tone and message than the others, which shows that they were really targeting certain audiences for each car and in each commercial.

    And I promise these are the last links I’ll give you all, hopefully others are as intrigued by these ads as I am haha. These are just for some articles that were written in response to the ads:
    Feb. 6
    http://www.freep.com/article/20110207/COL32/110207004/1318/SPORTS18/Video-Did-you-feel-Ad-says-Motor-City-back?odyssey=mod

    Feb. 7
    http://www.freep.com/article/20110208/BUSINESS01/102080380/Chrysler-Super-Bowl-ad-How-all-came-together

    About awards they’ve won: http://www.detnews.com/article/20110628/AUTO01/106280325/1148/Chrysler–Imported-from-Detroit–ad-featuring-Eminem-wins-Cannes-acclaim

  6. blueeyedleah says:

    I think the SMIT could even have been as simple as “This car is hot. Drive it and you will be too.” I like this campaign, but my favorite is the one with Eminem from the Super Bowl. I like these commercials too because they show people in all different industries with all different backgrounds.

  7. allyson flournoy says:

    I also like the fact that they are emphasizing that it is ” imported from detroit”. we tend to forget how bad the car companies were hit during this recession and car makers in detroit suffered so much. Emphasizing that its from detroit and rough a rugged makes it appealing to those who are loyal to their brands

  8. SMIT: Chrysler is hard.
    With a focus on the middle ad:
    Emphasizing the rock and roll/industry factor behind the company and it’s birthplace, the cool metal colors and bright white lights give the commercial an edge and an attitude.
    I really like the car itself and the voice behind it, it’s reassuring yet forceful while the car is shapely and sleek. The idea behind the ad was to highlight the design elements while reminding the consumers of the new brand image behind a strong new Crysler.

  9. Amber Heitkemper says:

    i love car commercials because I think they really try to show new ways of advertising. I like they state it is from detroit, stating like where it was made and maybe how important it is to their economy.

  10. Evon Sahaleh says:

    I really liked these commercials actually. I remember having these commercials play through the NBA playoffs and thought they did a good job of targeting the audience that would typically follow basketball or sports in general. The SMIT to me would be “Be young, drive a crystler.”

  11. nedmills says:

    I like the idea that the SMIT would be that successful people that work hard simply drive Chrysler. That obviously the message of the commercial and I think in some ways it makes you think that all the hard work you may do may not be complete without driving a Chrysler. Using Dr.Dre was a nice touch in the sense that he is very successful, million look up to him, and it simply make the ad more cool and fresh.

  12. Max Williams says:

    I think that the strategy was probably kind of an affective one, to associate positive emotions and connotations with American cars and cars from Detroit, which in the recent past have had a pretty bad reputation relative to other countries.
    My guess at the SMIT is something like: Detroit cars are better than you think

  13. I love these ads. not gonna lie, but the Dre one makes me miss LA every time I see it. i would say that the single most important thought is that “America is making a comeback”.

Comments are closed.