Malcolm Gladwell @ TED

Thanks to Alex F. and Ned M. for passing this along.  Learn from spaghetti sauce!

This entry was posted in video. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Malcolm Gladwell @ TED

  1. blueeyedleah says:

    I like the point made in this about how people don’t know what they want but that there is a way to get it if you are willing to work and pay attention. I also liked the idea of looking for the niche that needs to be filled because I feel that every brand/product/idea/service can have a place in consumer culture if they can just find where they belong and how really needs them.

  2. Brin McAtee says:

    I agree. A brand doesn’t just need one or two different variations but the variations that people want. And the only way to find that out is to test it out. Like picking out a shirt, you might like the pattern, but you won’t know how much you really like it until you try it on. Finding that connection can mean the world. I love that Malcolm called it a democracy among foods. Giving people choice through product is more revolutionary than I thought.

    By the way, here’s that Poupon commercial he mentioned:

  3. Ellie Boggs says:

    This is a great video, I love the way he speaks to the audience. The best thing about it is how he talks about that consumers don’t know what they want. Asking people what they want in focus groups and interviews doesn’t always work, as we can see with the Prego chunky pasta sauce example in the video. This means that much more attention should be paid to the way you research your audience and what they want. An important element of a campaign to remember while continuing in the Ad or PR world.

  4. nedmills says:

    The reason why I love this is because it is such a simply idea yet it remained a mystery for so long. The concept of having multiple sauces or other food items was unheard of at a time, which to me is just plain ridiculous. To me the quote, “You we’re looking for the perfect Pepsi but you should have been looking for the perfect Pepsi’s” should resonate with all ad majors. It is a simple concept yet packs a very large punch. I feel as if even now, we still feel restricted in some aspects of advertisement. In order to be creative in my book, one must not be afraid to branch out into the unknown.
    “To a worm in horseradish, the world is horseradish.”

  5. allyson flournoy says:

    I really enjoyed this video and loves how he uses the spaghetti sauce as an example of how people dont say what they want, and after some research what people wanted, was not what they were saying. I thought his talk was very interesting and really kept me engaged the whole time. He was awesome!

  6. Evon Sahaleh says:

    This guy really does love spaghetti sauce and he was able to show that throughout his pitch. He not only was just selling a product, but spoke about how much he loved it any how he has a connection with it. I like the approach he took with asking individuals about what they want and see how quickly those results changed.

Comments are closed.