Absolut Exhaustion

Listen to the podcast or read the transcript:

This entry was posted in podcast. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Absolut Exhaustion

  1. sean kim says:

    I liked the quote at the end of the story “People are drinking the ads as much as they’re drinking the vodka.”. i thought this was very true, even this ad wiith the moose or elk, whatever it is sucks you in. Good ads gets you known, even for artists.

  2. Leah Kennedy says:

    I didn’t realize before reading this that this famous Absolut campaign had been running for 25 years. That only proves how successful it was. I also love what was said about how technically all vodka is the same because every brand is striving for the same qualities so what the company had to sell was the affect, the cool factor. Brilliant work.

  3. Katie Doyle says:

    I wanted to continue to talk about the quote that Sean said..
    I totally believe that a product tastes or is “better” depending on the advertising and which is more creative and better. THink back to growing up and the clothing brands you wore. I always wore the stuff that was in magazines because the “popular people” whoever they were, decided that the ads were cool, and that i should support them by wearing/eating/drinking their products. I think that the vodka thing is very similar. Vodka is vodka. yea, sometimes you can tell a difference, but not a huge one. Your going to drink the one and promote the one that SEEMS the best, by the advertising.

  4. Julia Ortinez-Hansen says:

    I really enjoyed this article as I have a fascination with Absolute ads. I had no idea that they had been around for that long, which again I found really cool! I found it really interesting how they went through the process for distinguishing their selves from other companies with their “cool factor”. Richard Lewis gives the readers a really good insight into peoples purchasing powers through ads

  5. Ellie Boggs says:

    Great article about the history of Absolut but I felt like there was something missing. It’s titled Absolut Exhaustion implying the article will be about why the campaign ended but it wasn’t at all. Overall, it just left me curious about why they’d end such a successful and historic campaign.

  6. This is personally one of my campaigns ever and I’m pretty shocked that it’s finally ending. Like Ellie mentioned, I wish the article went into more detail as to why it’s getting discontinued, but it left me even more curious as to how they plan on following it up with their next campaign. They’ve built up such a massive image through these ads, the prospect that they’ve come up with a newer bigger plan to take Absolut to the next level is kind of exciting. Just eager to see where they take it… maybe these ads worked too well on me.

  7. Why would you end such a successful campaign? There are ENDLESS possibilities with this concept that people clearly enjoy enough to go as far as collecting the ads or purchasing books about them. Funny how they are discontinuing this awesome campaign while awful campaigns won’t seem to stop appearing. You know you’ve made it big in advertising when your product/campaign is a cultural icon, i.e. Coca-Cola, McDonalds, etc.

  8. Amber Heitkemper says:

    I think that absolut ads are very creative and I like how they integrate them into everyday objects. I agree that they could have taken this campaign further and made a big name for themselves. Now they have to have a better follow up to out do their old ads, so it will be interesting to see what they do.

  9. Scott Wooley says:

    What was the time set in the objective for Absolut on this campaign? Did they say, “We will raise awareness of Absolut products by 20% over the next 25 years”? As annoying as it can be to see these ads in every magazine I read, it is very successful and has created an image in my head that makes me remember Absolut.

  10. nedmills says:

    The success of these ads doesn’t come as a surprise to me. A lot of thought actually goes into every single one of the print ads. As simple as it is, the concept is brilliant. The repeatability of it is endless as shown in the 25 years or so that the campaign as been in existence. I think it also influenced a whole wave of ads that dealt with not showing the product directly but in a creative way, which I love.

  11. “What was unusual is that artists flocked to the campaign…” It’s cool that an idea sparked and became a quasi school assignment project. A draw inside the lines approach with alcohol. I like these ads but don’t love them, i get it, i just get bored with it.

  12. Layc Looney says:

    I never knew the Absolute ads have been running for as long as they have. I believe it is a great campaign, it has been able to continuously come up with new ways to present the same idea over a long period of time. These ads are creative and draws on the same strategies as the Got Milk ads that I am familiar with. I don’t think I had noticed these type of ads before because I was not a consumer of alcohol until recently. These ads speak well to my current lifestyle and age group.

Comments are closed.