The truth® Hurts

This entry was posted in podcast. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The truth® Hurts

  1. This really is a interesting case with a lot at stake. I had no idea Truth was financed by the tabacco companies, so I’m not surprised they aren’t happy about the direction of truth’s powerful campaign. Reminds me of Michael Mann’s movie The Insider, the true story of Jeffery Wigand (played by Russle Crowe), a chemist for Big Tabacco, who discovers the harmful truth behind cigarettes and speaks out against them on 60 Minutes. Of course Big Tabacco attacks him in court, in the interest of their business suffering – a similar reaction to the Legacy Foundation creating the Truth campaign. Great movie, worth the rental if you haven’t seen it yet.

  2. allyson flournoy says:

    It just really bothers me that a company that literally kills so many people makes such a huge effort to advertise the risks. I wonder if all companies that make a product that hurts the health of people all have to use their money to advertise against it?

  3. Kristen Andersen says:

    The fact that Truth is financed by tobacco companies reminds me of how both Dove and Axe are owned by Uni-lever, another contradicting pair of advertisements. I think the tobacco companies have crossed the line for promoting health awareness ads like Truth because it makes a consumer wonder do the tobacco companies even support smoking anymore? What are they trying to promote now?

    • Katie Doyle says:

      I thought of this too when i was reading. The Dove and Axe thing. I agree tobacco companies kinda do cross a line when promoting health awareness due to effects of their products. It makes me so mad because they are a company. THeir main goal is to make a profit. They obviously are a aware that their products kill. No doubt about it. Therefor, it makes NO SENSE for them to advertise the health risks because i feel that they are not being genuine about it. Its like, if the company really wanted to inform the people of all the bad that this product does, then they would just stop making it. But they are a corporation and the main goal is to make a profit.

    • Ryan Lytle says:

      http://www.unileverme.com/brands/personalcarebrands/fairandlovely.aspx

      Unilever also sells a skin-whitening line. Go figure. I remember reading about this a few years back. I don’t know how these products are perceived in the Indian market but from our perspective of the Dove brand stateside it’s certainly a massive contradiction.

  4. Leah Kennedy says:

    Like Bryce, I also thought of the movie The Insider when I read this. But I think the facts were taken the wrong way. The tobacco companies do not pay money to an agency to produce these ads. In the master settlement agreement many states, as well as the Legacy Foundation received big settlement money from the tobacco companies as part of that agreement. I know being from Nevada that our governor at that time used the settlement money to set up a scholarship fund for Nevada scholars attending in-state schools called the Millennium Scholarship, but it was just one large sum of money. It’s not like the companies pay into it now. The Truth campaign is the same situation. After reading this transcript, I hope the Legacy Foundation does not get in trouble for their ads, but it seems like a difficult balance to achieve in their advertising. The rules seem a bit strict around what they can or cannot say about the companies.

  5. Julia Ortinez-Hansen says:

    I find it so interesting is the fact that these ads effected a certain age group, which proves just how important and influenced the younger generations are. I feel that this concept is held in both a positive and negative light and can be used in both a good and bad way.

  6. Amber Heitkemper says:

    That is interesting to know that the Tobacco companies sponsor the Truth campaign. Because I would think that they would not want the public to know about the health problems that occur from smoking cigarettes. That most younger generations are beginning to smoke and making it a habit.

  7. nedmills says:

    I love the Truth ads. I find them to be much more affective then campaigns such as Above The Influence. The direct approach lets you know it is something to take seriously. It becomes much more then a advertisement after that which is great considering the topic. I have been around smoking my entire life and no matter where the money comes from, I am certain that no matter how funny a Budweiser commercial is or how creative a Audi ad can be, these ads will always remain the most influential.

  8. alexandra reyes says:

    I love these ads. They are a lot better than PETA ads. However, the best smoking ad is the one with the a woman who has a hole in her throat those were the best ones. Also I love Thank You For Smoking that was a great movie. These ads focus on the truth rather then extremely disturbing images all the time.

Comments are closed.