The Marketing Sí Change

This entry was posted in podcast. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Marketing Sí Change

  1. Leah Kennedy says:

    I am glad to see that some people are realizing that the Hispanic population deserves quality advertising as well and that they should not be pandered to in advertising. I have noticed the rise of latino TV channels, music, and stores within the U.S. through the last couple of years, and those advertisers who are willing to produce quality advertising for this population are going to be at the top of what I expect will be a growing trend. I have to say that I agree with the comment in the podcast commentary that most advertisers stereotype this community as only caring about family, but their culture celebrates a lot more and it is time U.S. advertisers join this celebration.

  2. Trevor Fox says:

    I didn’t know what this ad meant, so I asked one of my spanish speaking friends and they told me it means, “So good like the white girl thats looking at you”. I hope that this translation is right, but this looks a lot like the billboards I always see down in Los Angeles and San Diego. Spanish ads are significant and appealing to what this population finds important in life is key to success. Down in Southern California where I see these ads, the majority of the Mexican population fits the stereotype that would find this ad appealing. Also I find it interesting that this ad is for a Anheuser Busch beer, because it looks like they are wanting to beak into the Mexican beer market.

  3. Evon Sahaleh says:

    Its interesting the route that advertisers went with this ad. Clearly the hispanic population in the United States, especially in southern California is big enough for advertisers to set up a billboard in complete Spanish. It just shows that even though we are in the United States people are still marketing out to the minorities of the country.

  4. Amber Heitkemper says:

    I agree with Leah that their has been more latino Tv and other things. Also it is one way for business to reach a target audience that could become interested in buying their products. Living in Los Angeles there are not many billboards in spanish but their are some ads like at bus stops or in the areas where it has a bigger latino population.

  5. nedmills says:

    Minorities have been slowly becoming a audience that needs to be targeted. They represent, especially no English speakers, a un tapped source of commercial buying power. Simply putting ads in Spanish is brilliant in places like California as there is a large Hispanic population waiting to be influenced by companies. I think these populations are already somewhat branded but having advertisements directed at them may show them that they, as consumers, are just as important.

  6. Katie M. says:

    I think it is a very smart business move to target minorities, and I don’t know any Spanish (I took French) but I think it is interesting how the copy is in spanish but still the bud light label hasn’t been translated (I can’t read the curvise just the bud light beer part). I’m not saying bud light is being hypocritical I just would be interested to know more about the plans, decisions and “whys” of the billboard.

  7. Coming from LA, I see ads like this all the time. mostly in the neighborhoods or in the hispanic enclaves. there are also ads in chinese, japanese, and korean, so the advertisers are reaching different ethnicities and making them feel comfortable.

Comments are closed.