History of Political Ads

Click on “Daisy” for the podcast:

And check out the Museum of the Moving Image site for all the ads.

This entry was posted in podcast. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to History of Political Ads

  1. Leah Kennedy says:

    Political advertisements tend to annoy me because they come out in such volume and generally spend most of the time bashing other people in the race. I would rather here about why I should vote for the candidate, not why I should not vote for his opponent. But it is interesting to look at these ads and think they are what started this sort of advertising around political figures, for presidential elections are a unique time when individuals become brands within themselves. Though they may seem obnoxious to me now, the concept behind turning a candidate into a brand is fairly clever.

  2. nedmills says:

    I think political ads are a lot more tricky to create then people think. I am heavily involved in keeping up to date with politics and I tend to believe that most campaigns as well as the ads that are created from them involve quite a lot of bullshit. I think that the earlier more influential ads tend to use the scare tactic which I tend to hate. You can see that influence in Hillary Clintons ads against Obama. I just do not believe there is anything creative about political ads most of the time. I think they pray on people who simply dont know better.

  3. Katie M. says:

    As Leah brought up in turning a candidate into a brand, I feel like we see that a lot with celebrities now too. Oprah is one example that comes to mind, as well as musicians who “brand” themselves to their target audiences, and then when you see a celebrity with a different “look” than before, people say that person “reinvented” themsleves, like Madonna for example.

Comments are closed.