U.S. Seeks New Limits on Food Ads for Children

This entry was posted in text. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to U.S. Seeks New Limits on Food Ads for Children

  1. allyson says:

    I completely agree that advertising for unhealthy or fast food should be limited. We are the fattest nation in the world, and it is due to all the fast food we eat and “fake” substitutes in our foods. Kids watch so much tv and because advertising has become so huge and influential, kids are wanting whatever they see on tv. McDonalds and other fast foods are SO BAD for you, even still after changes had been made. They try to advertise salads for example, but the chicken and the dressing alone in their salads are worse than a Big Mac. Companies do need to start creating products that are not going to hurt our children.

  2. Leah Kennedy says:

    I support the idea of making recognizable food characters represent a healthier lifestyle, but I once again feel too much blame is being put in one place for an issue that is so multi-faceted. Toucan Sam and Tony the Tiger existed for years before this childhood obesity “epidemic” began, so I feel it is a bit extreme to place so much emphasis on the role these cartoon characters play in children’s lives. The part of this article that I do agree with is the idea that the recipes can change for the better. If I were one of these huge food companies that is constantly under fire for health reasons I would rather spend the money on something that actually works–making healthier food–than on changing my logo and brand concepts. That can come once a better product has been produced.

  3. Ellie Boggs says:

    The comparison to Camel, or cigarette advertising in general, is really interesting. In the article, they just touch on how the cartoon Joe Camel could no longer be used to advertise cigarettes to kids and how that’s similar to the way they’re trying to phase out Toucan Sam and other food cartoons. However, the cigarette industry has also faced regulations on advertising in general though, with altered packaging and other changes to marketing. I’m curious if regulations like those of the cigarettes industry will eventually be applied to adult foods that are unhealthy as well.

  4. Layc Looney says:

    I think that asking food makers and restaurants to make their products healthier is the right thing to do. Children should not be bombarded junk food advertisements from these companies. I believe there is a direct relationship between obesity and the types of food choices available to children in the media.
    Dale Kunkel stated that, “Toucan Sam can sell healthy food or junk food,” and I consider that to be an accurate statement. Healthy foods can be just as good as ‘junk food’, so I don’t see why ads should revolve so much around making poor eating choices look fun and appealing to children.
    However, parents obviously also have a huge part in deciding what goes on their child’s plates. I can remember seeing advertisements for McDonalds, Oreos, and many other types of junk foods, but rarely ate it. My parents always made meals for my brother and me. We rarely ate out at restaurants, especially at fast food restaurants.
    I do understand how hard it is for parents to have to combat the effects of advertising on children. Which is why I agree with the actions of the FTC, and the regulation of marketing efforts in TV, print ads, web sites, product placements in movies, and cross-promotions of movie characters and fast food children’s meals geared towards the youth.

  5. Evon Sahaleh says:

    I believe its a good idea to limit the types of junk food that fast foods are advertising to younger children. Kids at a younger age have no idea what food is considered healthy for them and what is considered harmful to their body. They are just sold on the toy, design, or advertisement put in place to persuade kids into wanting to go to that fast food restaurant. I think fast food places should spend more time advertising their healthier food options such as fruit, salad, or milk.

  6. Molly Johnson says:

    I think the article and everyone has made some valid points. Some might think this is a black and white argument, but I have fallen in an area of grey. I think the argument that fun characters should stop encouraging bad eating habits because of their appeal to young children. But I also agree with Leah because she is right…These characters have been around way longer than any huge obesity problem. I think that advertisements are definitely targeting children because since I’ve stopped tuning in to children’s programs and stations (such as Nickelodeon) I have not seen a sugar cereal commercial. That is a contributing factor as to why I agree with the characters should stop promoting these habits…But to be devil’s advocate, it is the parents doing the shopping and not the kids. It’s the parents who are parenting and could turn off the t.v. so they don’t see those ads. So it’s not so black and white as it is grey in this argument for or against endorsers like Tucan Sam and Tony the Tiger

  7. Kyle Ruble says:

    I believe this is a much better idea then criticizing the child directly in the previous post. I thin that this is the right idea to help the course of the obesity epidemic. The buying power of these products are in the hands of the children who consume them, with bright colors it is possible to allure any child. The article focuses on Toucan Sam, the peak of colored cereals. I think that these products should be reduced to a healthier recipe but it is the parents responsibility before the company that sells these products. If you are worried about your kid’s diet you should consider feeding him something healthier then fruit loops before there are medical concerns. This may not solve the problem but its a step in the right direction.

  8. Max Williams says:

    While I do totally support this type of thing, I really have a hard time seeing it actually happen. This plan seems to me to be a little too optimistic, and would maybe be more effective if the changes weren’t so dramatic. I could be wrong about this, but it seems like unless the type of good puts people’s lives in immediate danger, I have a hard time seeing advertising for those products being stopped.

  9. Amber Heitkemper says:

    I also believe that fast food or unhealthy food should be limited. They should start to find ways to promote heathly and cheap food for people to buy. The plan will be hard to execute but I think that it can make a difference somewhere.

  10. Kristen Andersen says:

    Although I don’t necessarily think fast food is best for kids, many fast food restaurants have made the connection that future generations will probably be obese because of the way America eats now, so they have started offering alternatives for kids menus. At McDonalds they offer apple slices instead of fries and milk instead of soda. This is a good idea so as to not lose interest from the parents and still let the child have the toy at the end of the happy meal, which is the most appealing element

Comments are closed.