Target Women: Jewelry

This entry was posted in video. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Target Women: Jewelry

  1. Max Williams says:

    Haha, it’s sad how often these same ads pop up. She did forget to mention the commercial where the guy proposes to the girl at a random place saying “you will” about remembering the random place. That one at least breaks outside of the white part of the white heterosexual norm (it’d be interesting to see one that broke the heterosexual norm)
    One time the sign language one was on and right when it ended my girlfriend did a little “aww” and kind of asked if I was watching that ad. I just looked at her completely serious and acted like I was confused and said “you want me to learn sign language?” She actually thought it was pretty funny.

  2. Katie Doyle says:

    **@Max have you seen the commercial where the man and woman are on the couch and a jewelry ad comes on and she uses the DVR to rewind it like 3 times and the guy asks “are you hinting at something?” Your girlfriend’s response to that commercial reminded me of that one. **
    I am glad this was posted because jewelry commercials have always bothered me for several reasons. Maybe I’m just not a “jewelry girl” but I find these type of ads very cheesy and annoying. To me, buying jewelry (unless a wedding ring, because that has a purpose, i guess) is not very thoughtful. Again, I’m not into jewelry, but it seems like a really easy gift for a man because it really doesn’t take thought. “Is it shiny? yes. Does it sparkle? yes. It’s Perfect!” That is how i feel about how a man would go about buying jewelry. I may be wrong, but that is why the ads seem so ridiculous to me. ESPECIALLY the Jered ads. “did he go to Jered!?!?” I know a Jered—He owns a pawn shop. Ironic?
    I also feel that those types of ads, even tho the products are FOR women, they are aimed at MEN to BUY them. ther is almost always a man in those commercials who is giving jewelry to a woman. Not a woman buying something for herself.

  3. Molly Johnson says:

    I agree with both of you. Jewelry ads are completely directed towards men who have no real idea what romance means. All of them that I have seen are cliche and include stereotypes that Max mentioned above. It is rare to see an interracial couple or anything outside the “norm.” They are laughable and just…dumb. Haha. The worst I’ve seen is this creepy little number….

    The woman is a damsel in distress that needs to be saved from a lightening storm…really? Is she three-years-old? No…and the man’s voice reminds me of Buffalo Bill. Enjoy

  4. Katie Doyle says:

    Ha ha ha. “you can surround her with the strength of your love”…Really? That sounds a little creepy.

  5. Brin McAtee says:

    One thing I have noticed is not only how these commercials ARE geared towards getting men to BUY the jewelry for women, but also how they are suggesting that in order to win a woman over you must BUY her approval through jewelry. I mean really? Is that all it takes? And honestly how many guys are going to be sitting around when these commercials come on and think, “Oh, I should really buy her those earrings!” Mostly it is the women who notice these, not the men. Then it’s up to the ladies to nag their guys into buying them stuff.
    It’s inefficient all the way around.
    And yes, the storm one is creepy (and silly)…How is a shiny rock going to protect you?

  6. Leah Kennedy says:

    This ad sort of reminded me of one of my favorite spoof ads of all time, though this one is for a real product.

    I gained a lot of respect for Kotex as a brand after seeing this commercial because they are able to make fun of their own industry while still showing the product and making a statement about their brand. The commercial makes a good point about these type of commercials, and I know I would equally appreciate a commercial along these lines in the jewelry sector because I hold a lot of respect for brands that are able to laugh at themselves without being disrespectful.

  7. alexfus says:

    I agree with you, but I would respect the Kotex brand for this if it didn’t come off as a bit disrespectful to the target audience anyway. After aggressively exposing (and simultaneously participating in) all the cliche tropes of feminine hygiene commercials, this ad ultimately still ask us to buy in to them by buying their product. I myself have ALWAYS disdained this particular product because what Kotex is really selling here is the packaging– they seem to think that “U” would be willing to pay more just for party-colored packaging (which in no way affects product performance, is immediately disposed of, and no one is supposed to see anyway). Who do they think they’re kidding? Ironically, this cheap ploy doesn’t make Kotex any different than the other advertisers they parody here. For me, their product just unavoidably connotes party-colored condoms…

    As to the original Target Women: Jewelry, I completely agree that they’re very generic and aimed at a convoluted target audience. However, they usually do an excellent job of storytelling in order to convey that sense of intimacy– with a glaring exception in the flatly creepy Kay Jewelers cabin ad above!

  8. Layc Looney says:

    @Leah I’ve never seen that Kotex commercial, but it was hilarious. I thought it was so funny how the model acted extremely bubbly, but making fun of market research strategies and what a target audience relates to best. It is important for brands to be able to acknowledge how obvious and bombarding their commercial advertising can be to consumers. Why not have fun with it and create an attractive campaign for your product. That is the point of almost every advertiser.

    The jewelry commercials are annoying as well to me. They are constantly focusing around a “memory” two loved ones share over the exchange of a piece of metal. I’ll admit, it is nice to be given a gift from a loved one, wether romantically or within your family, it doesn’t always need to be jewelry. I mean most of the time girls I know don’t even want to wear the jewelry after it is bought because it isn’t exactly what they wanted in the first place. 😉
    These jewelry commercials will obviously never go away, due to the fact that it is the product they are selling and will continue to sell. However, instead of focusing the stories told through the advertisements around sappy love and precious moments, spin it off in a different direction. Develop the stories into more exciting and humorous form of entertainment while incorporating the product. That would make things a little more interesting to me.

  9. Kyle Ruble says:

    This makes me question how we measure the value of luxury items like diamonds. I feel there is a deep felt cultural resonance to these items that is difficult to measure, the cost, craftsmanship or rarity is how we value it. The marketing is something completely different, I think her criticism is valid and humorous but I think there is a tradition that she is ignoring that means more then the advertisement that allows them to capitalize off it.

  10. Michelle Litchman says:

    typical. that is the first things that comes to mind when i view jewelry commercials. i liken them to the scary scenes in movies, you know how the characters are always trapped in a scary mansion at night when its raining? they never seem to walk in on a sunny mid afternoon in june. jewelry commercials only ever take place in the dusk of evening, and more often than not the weather is snowy or rainy. i watch jewelry commercials for a little laugh. I think i would pay more attention to them if one ballsy company chose a different tactic.

  11. alexandra reyes says:

    okay I maybe in the minority, but I love cheesy or sappy commericals. They are odd and doesn’t make me want to go buy anything, but I don’t hate them. She is being really harsh. How would she advertise for necklaces. I mean come on, give them a little break. Giving someone a ring or necklace is cheesy to begin with. It does nothing. It’s an accessory. They are basically like really nice hair ties.

  12. Katie M. says:

    I find the Target Women: Jewelry funny and accurate, and yes we all have our criticisms about it, but I have seen jewelry ads like these for years. Probably my whole life. There must be something in them that works, because it’s what everyone does!! Learning how much T.V. ads cost, + production, + market research, etc… I don’t really feel that a jewelry company would just “slap something up their” they weren’t confident in and comfortable with. I feel like when it’s your money, your company’s money, and your profits on the line it’s a different mindset. Yes it is easy to say it would be nice to see something really different, but then put your money up for the risk.

Comments are closed.