Living in Advertising Overload – Studio Smack

This entry was posted in video. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Living in Advertising Overload – Studio Smack

  1. Max Williams says:

    Things like this make me wonder if there’s a reason so many people have ADD/ADHD.
    Really cool animation too, sounds like it won some sort of award.

  2. Heidi Payghambari says:

    I thought it was clever how the video ends with the image of a moving train and the screeching noises of the subway. For me this symbolizes the continuos “overload of advertisement.” The messages of advertisements combined can take a rather annoying and unpleasant sound. In addition, as the video portrayed through the x-ray vision of advertisement detection, we are unnaturally surrounded by advertisements; the fascinating part is that we cannot pick out all the messages since we have selective attention spans, but we are and will be continuously surrounded by repetitive models of advertisement.

  3. Julia Ortinez-Hansen says:

    I really enjoyed this video. What I found to be most interesting is the contrasting black and white this element allowed the viewer to truly focus on the ads them selves as well as add to the intensity while it moved around. I also really like the effect that it had with the constant movement it added that humanizing element that it was the viewers eyes quickly scanning over all of these ads. I think this showed how unaware and customized we are to all of the ads around us.

  4. Evon Sahaleh says:

    I really enjoyed this video. I think it did a really job portraying how ads are a part of our everyday life whether we notice them or not. It shows how many ads are actually out in our environment no matter where we go. The companies do a good job of placing where they place their ads in order to catch viewers attention. I also really enjoyed the animation aspect of it, it did a good job portraying a normal persons day and how many ads he was able to see over the course of the day.

  5. Molly Johnson says:

    The (obviously) distinct separation from real life images and the images including advertisements and brands is a great way to visually show the viewer how much they see without even noticing. The addition of the audio of everyday life really brings it all together in a way that makes it realistic even though the graphics are so unnatural and artistic. Great way to express the idea of the overload of messages we all receive on a daily basis!

  6. Ellie Boggs says:

    I happened to watch this video after watching the Logorama video which has similar emphasize on the mass amounts of advertisements in everyday life. To me this video doesn’t do quite as good a job of making the ads stick out visually. The black and white is a distinct look but it doesn’t show off the logos well. Logorama gets the ad/logo overload point across better I think, maybe because Logorama uses color, or the world is made out of logos.

  7. Kyle Ruble says:

    I think this is an interesting interpretation of how many messages are available in a short walking sequence and how the distinction between what is important or not.

    What I also find intriguing is that though the sequence is German text but the ads give it a generic feel. It is like any other supermarket or subway station with so many ads merge with the purpose and the architecture of the location.

  8. This is a great representation of how ads are involved in every day life. Perhaps it’s an exaggeration or maybe it’s not. I feel like the amount of ads we see will just increase as time goes on. The fact that the video portrays different languages also shows that its not just the United States that is consumer-obsessed.

  9. nedmills says:

    I am really curious to who they edited this. I love the fact that they switch it around on us. I almost wish I had this vision sometimes. I feel as if the amount of ads around tend to contribute to the lack of awareness that we have towards really creative ads. They simply get thrown into this mindset that all advertisements are annoying and simply cant be creative or works of art. I beg the differ.

Comments are closed.